Winners of the 2019 competition are announced


The 2019 Tower Prize winners were announced on Wednesday during the annual prizegiving ceremony at Christ Church, attended by the Lord Mayor of Oxford, members of the Tower family, and representatives from arts and culture bodies.

The winners are:

1st Prize: Lucy Prescott from Lakes School, Cumbria, with the poem “In a Room with Just Bedding”.

2nd Prize: Lucy Thynne from Lady Margaret School, London, with the poem “Learning to swim”.

3rd prize: Joseph Harrison from London Oratory School, with the poem “Thalassa”.


Commended (in no particular order):

Isobel Falk from Tiffin Girls’ School, London, with the poem “Sleeping Swimmer”.

Anjali Mulcock from Haberdashers’ Aske’s School for Girls, Hertfordshire, with the poem “the lost sailor’s ecstatic drowning”.

Flora Rugman from Latymer Upper School, London, with the poem “on agnes swimming”.


Professor Peter McDonald remarked: ‘This year’s theme of ‘Underwater’ elicited many responses. Our 2019 winners are extraordinarily varied and extraordinarily talented.’

Congratulations to the six winners, and to everyone who entered the competition this year.

Tower Poetry Awards 2019 by Ian Wallman